TechHui

Hawaiʻi's Technology Community

I recently started learning Ruby on Rails and I'd like to get your opinions on what you think is the best IDE for this type of development. I have tried both Eclipse and NetBeans. Of the two, I so far prefer Eclipse. What do you guys use?

Views: 106

Replies to This Discussion

Hey, I am surprised that no one responded yet... So allow me start off in a very awkward manner with a link to one of Zed Shaw's blog rants (just scroll on down to Rumor Control). It is always refreshing to read what Zed has to say (taken with a huge grain of salt.

Ahem... but me? I was given a Dell Latitude to work on, and since I need to often use Microsoft Office, I just use the stock WinXP OS. I have yet to take a serious look at the new NetBeans 6.1, but I saw a video and it looked pretty good. But while I work on WinXP, I am accustomed to having access to the wonderful GNU tools, so I actually do a lot of coding (not just Ruby/Rails, but Python and Java as well) from the Linux emulation layer called Cygwin. Ruby, all my gems, my PostgreSQL database.. all on Cygwin. Funny thing is, I just use Eclipse as a simple text editor for the most part, but I do like the Subversion plugin. Still, I don't really need that with vim, svn, and everything else on Cygwin.

I also make a lot of use with Sun's VirtualBox virtual machine.

Er, but in conclusion: I will be soon spending more time with NetBeans, since I understand that there is close cooperation with the JRuby people, and I am very keen on learning more about scripting languages running on the Java Virtual Machine.
Hi Booke, thanks for the reply! No question where Zed stands on eclipse, eh? :)

Actually, the first editor that I normally reach for for anything is vim. It does syntax highlighting for a variety of languages including Ruby. Here's a screenshot on my work laptop using the torte theme: