TechHui

Hawaiʻi's Technology Community

I've been working with CSS for a couple of years and have always thought it would be useful to be able to use constants or variables in my stylesheets. Recently reading up on Safari's Engine Webkit, it looks CSS variables are becoming a definite possibility.

I also found that you can use CSS variables with Shaun Inman's CSS-SSC.

CSS variables (although more like constants) would be something like this:

@variables {
websitecolor: #2f2f2f;
}

#wrapper {
background-color: var(websitecolor);
}

h2{
color: var(websitecolor);
}

Cool? I thought so but not everyone agrees with CSS variables. I came across Bert Bos's (from W3C) essay titled, 'why variables in css are harmful'.

I would personally like to see CSS variables go somewhere but was wondering what everyone else thought on the subject.

Views: 40

Replies to This Discussion

I think Bert is dead wrong. His arguments seem to boil down to "They make CSS too complicated and difficult to read". Huh? Nothing is harder to maintain or read than a CSS file with the same three colors repeated 20 times :-/

It would be very nice to have your colors and fonts declared in one place. DRY! You can handle some cases via inheritance and application of multiple classes to a single element, but it doesn't help when you want to use the same color for the foreground of one element and the background of another.
Dan- I completely agree. Bert didn't convince me at all so I was wondering if I had missed something out of that essay. He says variables will also make the learning curve of CSS steeper because it makes it harder for a beginner to learn and reuse other people's work? I don't see how that outweighs the benefits of having more maintainable code.

Daniel Leuck said: