TechHui

Hawaiʻi's Technology Community

As a UH ICS faculty member, I am delighted to see this group and participation in it by both former UH students like Aaron Kagawa as well as community members like Dan Leuck. I hope it can develop into a powerful and positive force for the ICS community in particular and the Hawaii tech community in general.

To help push things forward and foster community development, I would like to know how people see themselves as mentors and what their goals are for the future. To kick this off, I will provide my own perspective and hope that others follow suit with their own "Mentor Introduction" posting. (End preamble!)

I have been a UH Professor in the Information and Computer Sciences Department since 1990, and my primary research and educational focus is software engineering. In addition to my departmental activities, I have also been active in the Hawaii tech community: I served on the Board of Directors of the Hawaii Strategic Development Corporation (HSDC), the High Technology Development Corporation (HTDC), and LavaNet, Inc. I also helped found an Internet startup called hotU in the late 1990's. I taught interdisciplinary courses in software development and entrepreneurship with participants from ICS and the UH School of Business in the early 2000s. I have a deep and longstanding commitment to the Hawaii technology community and see the ICS Department's faculty and students as a significant source of "nutrition" for the local tech economy.