TechHui

Hawaiʻi's Technology Community

Hi all,

I'm about to buy the latest macbook pro (to be released next week). I read some horror stories about doa systems. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on ways I can validate the new laptop has no defects. I can test the wired ethernet and wireless 802.11b since I'm a student and I can test those at UH. But I don't have any wireless router, so is there any where I can test 802.11a/g/n access?

Also, any recommendations on software tools to verify all of the mbp hardware is working? I heard some older revs of the mbp had issues with audio output and LCD display.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

--jc

Views: 20

Replies to This Discussion

Hmm, that seems like one of those things they'd check before it left the factory... I can't say that I personally know anyone who has had a DOA Mac system, and my own experience was very nice. I've only had a couple of problems with my MacBook (but I bought mine a year ago), and they were all fixed with software/firmware updates in the first few months I owned it.

I wouldn't worry about it too much. Seems you should be able to find a Wireless G connection (isn't there some free WiFi in Honolulu somewhere? I know the Hawaiian Air Premier Club has free wifi, but that might be a little inaccessible unless you're at the airport.
Chris Runnells said:
Hmm, that seems like one of those things they'd check before it left the factory...

Yes, but there could be damage during delivery, I ordered this computer online. Just want to be sure. I've tested everything except the DisplayPort and all of the wireless network. So most everything seems to be ok.

Chris Runnells said:
I wouldn't worry about it too much. Seems you should be able to find a Wireless G connection (isn't there some free WiFi in Honolulu somewhere? I know the Hawaiian Air Premier Club has free wifi, but that might be a little inaccessible unless you're at the airport.